Home / Service / Defense


Defence is one of the major spending sectors in the Indian economy. The geographical and topographical diversity, especially the 15,000 km long border which India shares with seven neighbouring countries poses unique challenges to the Indian Defence Forces.

The Supreme Command of the Armed Forces vests in the President. The responsibility for national defence rests with the Cabinet. This is discharged through the Ministry of Defence, which provides the policy framework and wherewithal to the Armed Forces to discharge their responsibilities in the context of the defence of the country.The Raksha Mantri (Defence Minister) is the head of the Ministry of Defence.

Indian Army

The Indian Army is the land-based branch and the largest component of the Indian Armed Forces. The President of India is the Supreme Commander of the Indian Army, and it is commanded by the Chief of Army Staff (COAS). The primary mission of the Indian Army is to ensure national security and national unity, defending the nation from external aggression and internal threats, and maintaining peace and security within its borders. It conducts humanitarian rescue operations during natural calamities and other disturbances and can also be requisitioned by the government to cope with internal threats. The Indian Army has a regimental system, but is operationally and geographically divided into seven commands, with the basic field formation being a division.

An officer in the Indian Army inherits glorious heritage and lasting traditions, blended perfectly with the latest advances in technology in the fields of armament, management, engineering and medical sciences. It offers a golden opportunity to be a part of the world's finest Army and get trained not only to be an Officer but also a Gentleman for life.

Eligibility criteria

Sl. No. Category Education Age
1 Soldier (General Duty) SSLC / Matric with 45% marks in aggregate and 33% in each subject. 17 ½ - 21 Yrs
2 Soldier (Technical) (Technical Arms, Artillery, Army Air Defence) 10+2/Intermediate Exam pass in Science with Physics, Chemistry, Maths and English with 50% marks in aggregate and 40% marks in each subject. 17 ½ - 23 Yrs
3 Soldier Clerk / Store Keeper Technical (I) Should have secured 50% marks In each subject and 60% marks in aggregate in class XII.
(II) Should have studied English and Maths/Accts/ Book Keeping in Class XII or X and should have secured min 50% marks in each of these subjects, whether studied in Class XII or X.
17 ½ - 23 Yrs
4 Soldier Nursing Assistant (Army Medical Corps) 10+2 / Intermediate Exam pass in Science with Physics, Chemistry, Biology and English with Minimum 50% marks in aggregate and minimum 40% in each subject. Or the candidate should have a BSc Degree with (Botany / Zoology / Bio-Science) and English 17 ½ - 23 Yrs
5 Soldier Tradesmen, Mess Keeper and House Keeper ) 10 th  / ITI 17 ½ - 23 Yrs
6 Soldier Tradesmen ( Mess Keeper and House Keeper) 8 th  Pass 17 ½ - 23 Yrs
7 Survey Automated Cartographer (Engineers) BA/BSc with Maths. Must have also passed 12 th class (10+2) or equivalent with Maths and Science as main subjects. 20-25 Yrs
8 Junior Commissioned Officer Religious Teacher (All Arms) Graduate in any discipline. In addition requisite qualification in his own religious denomination. 27-34 Yrs
9 Junior Commissioned Officer Catering (Army Service Corps) 10+2 or equivalent exam and Diploma / Certificate Course of a duration of one year or more in Cookery Hotel Management and Catering Technology from a recognized University / Food Craft Institute.. 21-27 Yrs
10 Havildar Education (Army Education Corps) Group X - MA / MSc / MCA or BA / BSc / BCA / BSc (IT) with B Ed Group Y - BSc/BA/BCA/B Sc (IT) (w/o B Ed.) 20-25 Yrs

Indian Air Force

The Indian Air Force is the air arm of the Indian armed forces. It was officially established on 8 October 1932. The President of India holds the rank of Supreme Commander of the IAF.As of 1 July 2017, 139,576 personnel are in service with the Indian Air Force. The Chief of Air Staff, an air chief marshal, is a four-star officer and is responsible for the bulk of operational command of the Air Force.

Eligibility criteria

  • Age - 20 to 24 years
  • Nationality- Indian
  • Marital Status - Single
  • Gender - Men only
  • Qualifications : Graduate (Three Year Course) in any discipline from a recognised University (with Physics and Mathematics at 10+2 level)/BE/B Tech (Four Year Course).
  • Final Year/semester students are also eligible to apply, provided they produce Degree certificate issued by the University as per the date stipulated in the advertisement

    Paramilitary forces

    The term "paramilitary forces" in India has not been defined in any acts or by authorities officially, however they are currently used to refer to following forces

  • The Assam Rifles (AR) (led by Indian Army officers reporting to the Ministry of Home Affairs)
  • The Special Frontier Force (SFF) (led by Indian Army officers reporting to Indian Intelligence)
  • Following five forces which come under Indian Home Ministry were earlier considered paramilitary forces, but from March 2011 have been reclassified as Central Armed Police Forces to avoid confusion.

  • Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF)
  • Border Security Force (BSF)
  • Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP)
  • Central Industrial Security Force (CISF)
  • Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB)
  • Other forces were popularly known as Paramilitary forces but are better known as Special Forces of India:

  • National Security Guard
  • Special Protection Group